Dorm Room Checklist

My cousin Julie is starting college this fall, and she sent me this text today:

O and I am going to start my dorm shopping, but idk what I need and what I don’t. Any insider tips?

I gave her some ideas, and she replied:

I was at Bed Bath and Beyond today to find a new alarm clock (mine just died) and I saw sooo much stuff, but I didn’t know what I needed and what I didn’t! So I appreciate it 🙂

I had forgotten the alarm clock. Shows how important getting up on time was to me!

So we put together a list. Now, it’s been a long time since I started college (almost half my life ago, eek!), but I did my best to remember what I needed.

  • You will need sheets and a comforter. Try to find out if beds are just plain twin or twin extra long. You might want a body pillow or one of those back-support pillows if you sit on your bed to do work.
  • Towels and washcloths, robe, flip flops/slippers
  • Even if you have a bathroom in your room, you might want a shower caddy to hold your stuff. Definitely a plastic one. I had this huge Caboodle one that was like a bucket. It could store stuff in the bottom and had a tray to hold the stuff I used on top.
  • A few dishes and bowls, silverware, esp for cereal.
  • Laundry stuff you got, right? 😉 basket, hamper
  • Hangers for your closet.
  • A little lamp for your desk
  • A good dictionary
  • You’ll need to think about how you are going to take notes – looseleaf paper and folders, notebooks, etc.
  • Ooo maybe a bin for keeping snacks like crackers and goldfish so they don’t go stale?
  • Maybe a little fan, too? If you can’t control the room temp, it can get hot and stuffy.
  • Oh you know what else? Dumb stuff like scissors and a stapler, or a ruler. You never realize how much you use scissors til you can’t go in the kitchen drawer whenever you need them!! 😉

Anything else? Let us know!

1 Comment

Filed under Memories

One response to “Dorm Room Checklist

  1. Hi! Interesting blog post! Packing for college is so overwhelming! You should let your cousin know about this really helpful site I just discovered called “designyourdorm.com”. Its actually a 3D virtual room creator! It could be really helpful for her! Hope this helps 🙂

Leave a Reply

