Summer Reading Challenge

Last summer I read twenty books. Let’s see if I can top that! Now, since I’m a teacher, some will be kid’s books, but I will label them. (And part of the twenty from last year were children’s books, too.) I started the last week of school, and here’s what I’ve read:

June
There Are No Shortcuts by Rafe Esquith
A Hatred for Tulips by Richard Lourie
Vet Volunteers #7: Teacher’s Pet by Laurie Halse Anderson (children’s novel)
Vet Volunteers #8: Trapped by Laurie Halse Anderson (children’s novel)
Dirty Blonde by Lisa Scottoline
each little bird that sings by Deborah Wiles (children’s novel)

July
Fearless Fourteen by Janet Evanovich
Eggs by Jerry Spinelli (children’s novel)
Chains by Laurie Halse Anderson
Vet Volunteers #6: Storm Rescue by Laurie Halse Anderson (children’s novel)
Best Friends Forever by Jennifer Weiner
slant by Laura E. Williams (teen novel)
My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult

August
Light on Snow by Anita Shreve
Mommywood by Tori Spelling
The First Six Weeks of School by Paula Denton and Roxann Kriete
Educating Esme: Diary of a Teacher’s First Year by Esme Raji Codell
Firegirl by Tony Abbott (teen novel)
Olive’s Ocean by Kevin Henkes (teen novel)
Teach Like Your Hair’s on Fire by Rafe Esquith
Vet Volunteers #5: Say Good-Bye by Laurie Halse Anderson (children’s novel)

September
Finger Lickin’ Fifteen by Janet Evanovich

By my count that’s 22 books! *woo*hoo* 🙂 Check out all the books I read this year on my Listography page!

5 Comments

Filed under Books

5 responses to “Summer Reading Challenge

  1. Lorrie

    I suggest Why Men Marry Bitches. It’s actually quite truthful. Gave my copy to my younger sister who is married – and it actually saved her marriage. I need it back but I think she needs it more.

  2. sandysays1

    Anyone who reads large volumes of books and is smart enough to set goals Is my kind of human. You might want to consider adding “A River Runs Through It.” Maclean is a captivating writer and his prose is superb. (Even if you’ve seen the movie)

    Visit me at http://www.sandysays1.wordpress.com

    • Maud

      Once again, I’ll recommend Anna Gavalda’s Hunting & Gathering.

    • Thanks, Sandy! 🙂 I love to read. I make sure to read at least one book a month during the school year, too. Usually I can get in two (especially if one is a kid novel 😉 ) but then I catch up in the summer! Can’t wait.

      Thanks also for the book suggestion. I know I saw the movie, but the plot for Legends of the Fall keeps coming to mind. Must be a Brad Pitt thing. 😉

Leave a Reply

