Xenophobia

I saw this bumper sticker on a car in the parking lot at Best Buy. It is just so perfect – it says it all. I want to say, “Hah! Take that, you English-only Xenophobes!”

I love telling people (like half my family) why English is not the “official” language of the United States when they start complaining about immigrants. If our Founding Fathers had chosen a national language, they would’ve had to pick German. Did you know our first ESL schools were German-English back in the 1700s?

(I also remind them their grandfather was not born here, and his parents never spoke much English – my dad said as a kid he couldn’t really talk to them because they mostly spoke Czech. So, you have no room to complain!)

I find it so hypocritical that people who came to this country in search of religious freedom persecuted the Native Americans then and immigrants now.

Leave a comment

Filed under Politics, Project 365

Leave a Reply

