Sweet Tea, I Wish I Knew How To Quit You

Philly must be posting calorie counts now like NYC – or is it all of PA, I forget? – and the Chick-Fil-A at the airport said their Sweet Tea is 0-220 calories. (Okay, how can it be zero calories if it’s Sweet Tea, unless you don’t buy one? And how can 32 oz. of corn-syrupy-goodness be only 220 calories because you know they’re not using Sweet N’ Low or even Splenda like the Diet Lemonade?) Every New Year I say I’m going to quit drinking Sweet Tea. This year I started, and then told myself I could have it every other day, and then I started making my own again at home. Not good.

It’s been easier to quit drinking root beer. But, the other day I wanted a drink with flavor so I stopped at Wawa to get one. The whole time driving toward it, I couldn’t decide – Yes, it’s okay – No, don’t do it! – until finally I arrived and turned into the parking lot. Resigned, I turned off the car and went in. The first bad sign was that I couldn’t decide what size cup to get. 22oz.? 32 oz.? 22 with only a little ice? 32 with lots? 32 oz. is only 10 cents more, but then I’d feel obligated to finish it, and that’s more sugar. 22 oz. would be just enough to taste to satisfy the craving – which really wasn’t a craving because it was all in my head that I should get something besides water or cherry Kool Aid, not that I wanted it. Seriously, this much thought over a cup of soda? And as I’m thinking all this, my hand was going back and forth between the two stacks of cups – 22, 32, 22, 32… Finally I settled on 32 oz. with lots of ice. Whew.

The second bad sign was some water (?) was dripping out of the faucet when I pushed the root beer tab so I had to hold the cup funny to #1 not get it in the cup because I didn’t know what it was and #2 not get it all over my hand. It was like filling the cup in the cave behind a waterfall. Then I tried to make sure it tasked alright because of what I (hope) assume was the carbonated mix. It mixed good – it was right – but it didn’t taste good. It tasted bad, just like the few times I’ve had Coke or Pepsi on accident over the (nine) years since I stopped drinking them. Another sip, followed by a grimace. Then a smile – I didn’t want it. All that hesitation and indecision for nothing!

I turned around to dump it out in the soda fountain, but another customer was there. I felt dumb to dump out the whole thing, anyway, and even dumber to just stand there waiting. I almost just paid for it when I saw the trash hold in the coffee kiosk and dropped the cup in. So guilty, but it was gone, and hopefully no one saw me. I walked out, root-beer-free.

Now if only quitting Sweet Tea were so easy, I’d be corn-syrup-sugar-free.

Sweet Tea, I wish I knew how to quit you.

1 Comment

Filed under Pop Culture

One response to “Sweet Tea, I Wish I Knew How To Quit You

  1. Pingback: finally… « deux filles

Leave a Reply

